Thankful for Agriculture

Blog Challenge: Post 24

Why to be Thankful for the Food or Fuel Debate

There is currently a massive debate going regarding the issue of food vs fuel. If you are even a little bit involved with agriculture I can almost guarantee that you have heard about this issue and might have even made an opinion about it. Whether or not you want it to be for food or fuel. But I think I am getting a little bit ahead of myself. By that I mean that I haven’t shared my definition of the issue. The definition I found online about the issue is, as energy demands devour crops that were once used for sustenance  the economics of agriculture are being rewritten. 

With the populations rising scientists are trying to find a solution to the hunger problem that will occur if we do not change the way we do things. So people have been debating whether or not to make crops a food or a fuel. Or could they even be used for both? That is the current state of the debate nobody knows what the best decision is and nobody know the long term effects of any of the ways they might choose. Which if you think about is really quite scary because everything is so unknown.

So thats why I think it is important to be thankful for the debate. It shows that people and scientists really have societies best interest at heart. This could possibly be a solution to a problem that is becoming closer and closer to being reality. So thats why I am thankful for it. I have not picked a side yet because I personally am still getting educated on the issue. I know that what side I pick really doesn’t change the decision that should be made, but I want to be educated on it.

Leave a comment